Lionel Messi, Lautaro Martínez and Germán Cano nominated for 2023 IFFHS Best Player


Lionel Messi, Lautaro Martínez and Germán Cano have been nominated for the IFFHS Men’s World Best Player 2023 award.

Messi won the award last year and is nominated once more, this time as an Inter Miami player. With the club, he won the Leagues Cup and with the Argentina national team, has scored three goals in the 2026 South American World Cup qualifiers. He recently won the Ballon d’Or, the best player in the world.

Lautaro Martínez is also nominated. He won the Coppa Italia last season with Inter and also made the Champions League final. He presently has 14 goals in 15 league matches.

Germán Cano of Fluminense is also nominated. He won the Copa Libertadores and scored 40 goals in 59 matches. Here are the nominees:

Lionel Messi (Argentina, Inter Miami)
Lautaro Martinez (Argentina, Inter)
German Cano (Argentina, Fluminense)
Jude Bellingham (England, Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City)
Rúben Dias (Portugal, Manchester City)
İlkay Gündoğan (Germany, Manchester City/Barcelona)
Erling Haaland (Norway, Manchester City)
Rodri (Spain, Manchester City)
Bernardo Silva (Portugal, Manchester City)
Harry Kane (England, Tottenham Hotspur/Bayern Munich)
Kim Min-jae (South Korea, Napoli/Bayern Munich)
Nicolò Barella (Italy, Inter Milan)
Kylian Mbappé (France, Paris Saint-Germain)
Jamal Musiala (Germany, Bayern Munich)
Martin Ødegaard (Norway, Arsenal)
Bukayo Saka (England, Arsenal)
Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)
Vinícius Júnior (Brazil, Real Madrid)
Bruno Fernandes (Portugal, Manchester United)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)
Romelu Lukaku (Belgium, Inter/Roma)
Alphonso Davies (Canada, Bayern Munich)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Al Nassr Jeddah)
Antoine Griezmann (France, Atlético Madrid)