Croatia names their preliminary list for World Cup


Croatia’s national team head coach Zlatko DALIC has named his preliminary list of 32 players that will be in the running for the trip to Russia.

He is expected to trim the squad to just 23 by the 4th of June.

Danijel SUBASIC (Monaco, France)
Lovre KALINIC (Gent, Belgium)
Dominik LIVAKOVIC (Dinamo, Croatia)
Karlo LETICA (Hajduk, Croatia)

Vedran CORLUKA (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)
Domagoj VIDA (Besiktas, Turkey)
Ivan STRINIC (Sampdoria, Italy)
Dejan LOVREN (Liverpool, England)
Sime VRSALJKO (Atletico Madrid, Spain)
Josip PIVARIC (Dyano Kyiv, Ukraine)
Tin JEDVAJ (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)
Matej MITROVIC (Club Brugge, Belgium)
Borna BARISIC (Osijek, Croatia)
Zoran NIZIC (Hajduk, Croatia)
Duje CASLETA-CAR (Red Bull Salzburg, Austria)
Borna SOSA (Dinamo, Croatia)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Spain)
Ivan RAKITIC (FC Barcelona, Spain)
Mateo KOVACIC (Real Madrid, Spain)
Milan BADELJ (Fiorentina, Italy)
Marcelo BROZOVIC (Inter, Italy)
Marko ROG (Napoli, Italy)
Mario PASALIC (Spartak Moscow, Russia)
Filip BRADARIC (Rijeka, Croatia)

Mario MANDZUKIC (Juventus, Italy)
Ivan PERISIC (Inter, Italy)
Nikola KALINIC (AC Milan, Italy)
Andrej KRAMARIC (Hoffenheim, Germany)
Marko PJACA (Schalke, Germany)
Ante REBIC (Eintracht, Germany)
Duje COP (Standard Liege, Belgium)
Ivan SANTINI (Caen, France)

Croatia will be Argentina’s second group opponent. Both teams will square off on the 21st of June at the Nizhny Novgorod Stadium.
DALIC said:

“It is a pleasure for me to see just how many of our players participated and winning trophies for their club this season, and I congratulate everyone who has become the champions or cup winners in their countries. In Luki (MODRIC), Matej (KOVACIC) and Dejan (LOVREN), we are proud that we will have a winner in the Champions League for the sixth consecutive year. Not forgetting Šimi (VRSAJKO) who will take part in the Europa League final. All this shows that we have a great concentration of quality and this is filled with optimism ahead of the World Cup.”


  1. Nigeria release squad

    Goalkeepers (4): Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa), Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United)

    Defenders (10): Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag, The Netherlands); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England); Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium); Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria)

    Midfielders (8): Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Joel Obi (Torino FC, Italy), Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)

    Forwards (8): Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars, Nigeria); Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo (Crotone, Italy)

  2. Croatia looks formidable on paper. They generally go for 4-2-3-1 with Rakitic playing behind Modric in the midfield. But even with players like Mandzukic upfront, they did not find too many goals in qualifying.

Comments are closed.